Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Academic staff

Distinguished Professor Amin Saikal AM FASSA

Director of Centre and Distinguished Professor of Political Science

Email: amin.saikal@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Politics, history, political economy and international relations of the Middle East and Central Asia.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/saikal-a

Professor James Piscatori

Deputy Director

Email: James.Piscatori@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Islam and international relations; and Islamic political thought, particularly as it relates to democratisation in Middle Eastern societies. His area of focus has been principally, but not exclusively, on the Arab states of the Gulf. Recently, he has been working on pan-Islamism and Islamic transnationalism, and specifically investigating the contemporary meaning of the 'ummah' (community of the faith).

Dr Kirill Nourzhanov

Senior Lecturer and Postgraduate Advisor - Research

Email: Kirill.Nourzhanov@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Research interests include politics, international relations and conflict resolution in contemporary Central Asia.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/nourzhanov-kk

Dr Zahra Taheri

Lecturer in Persian Language and Iranian Studies

Email: Zahra.Taheri@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Research interests include Persian literature and women. Sufism.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/tanha-zt

Dr Huda Al-Tamimi

Convenor of Arabic Program & Postgraduate Advisor - Coursework

Email: Huda.Al-Tamimi@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Research interests include: Arabic language and literature through culture; Gender and the impact of Islamic rules on women’s participation in the public sphere; Arabic calligraphy and gender bias; Arabic media and the Iraqi transition to democracy; Gender disparities and the imbalance of rights and their significance in the Arab world.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/al-tamimi-h

Dr Davood Hatami

Lecturer in Persian Program

Email: Davood.Hatami@anu.edu.au

Dr Raihan Ismail

Lecturer

Email: Raihan.Ismail@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Sectarianism in the Gulf region, Political Islam with a strong focus on Egypt and South East Asia, and studies of religious institutions in the Middle East.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/ismail-rb?term=ismail

France Meyer

Associate Lecturer in Arabic

Email: France.Meyer@anu.edu.au

Research Interests:

Research interests include Modern Arabic literature and translations from Arabic to French.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/meyer-f

Dr M. Murat Yurtbilir

Associate Lecturer in Turkish Studies

Research Interests:

Domestic and foreign politics of Turkey, Ottoman and Turkish history, international politics of Central Asia and Caucasus, nationalist movements and nation-building in Turkey and Central Asia, theories on nationalism and ethnicity, International Relations theory and security, development and population studies.

Researcher profile: https://researchers.anu.edu.au/researchers/yurtbilir-mm?term=murat

Leila Kouatly

Associate Lecturer in Arabic

Email: Leila.Kouatly@anu.edu.au

Updated: 28 July 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Head of CAIS / Page Contact:  Web publisher